2015 Entry Closed



Tell us your favourite restaurants, pubs, cafes and products

The Cumbria Life Food & Drink Awards are back! Now in their fourth year, our celebration of Cumbria’s world-class food and drink sector is firmly established as the highlight of the year for the industry.

Our 2015 awards dinner will again take place at Kendal College, on Thursday March 5.

We are delighted to have the support of this year’s main sponsor, Made in Cumbria.
A not-for-profit organisation which is part of  Cumbria Chamber of Commerce, Made in Cumbria provides support and a shop window for Cumbrian producers at farmers’ markets, events, retail outlets and via its own online store.

Chamber of Commerce chief executive Rob Johnston said: “Made in Cumbria is absolutely delighted to be partnering with Cumbria Life for the Food & Drink Awards this year. These awards are a really strong fit with the Made in Cumbria ethos as both are about promoting the fabulous food and drink offer we have here in the county. It’s a tremendous opportunity to celebrate this key sector for the county and promote your business.”

Last year for the first time hundreds of Cumbria Life readers nominated their favourite food and drink businesses. This was highly successful in bringing hidden gems to the judges’ attention and helping to decide between evenly matched candidates, said editor Richard Eccles.

This year there are four ‘Made in Cumbria’ awards which focus on business success criteria and require a formal awards entry from the business concerned. Chef of the Year must also be nominated by the owner or manager.

Cumbria-based chef and consultant Steven Doherty, who runs the First Floor Café at Lakeland in Windermere, is chairman of judges for the fourth year running. The full panel of judges will be revealed in the January issue and at cumbrialifefoodawards.co.uk from November 24.

Previous hosts of the awards event have been Hairy Biker Dave Myers, broadcaster and Cumbria Life columnist Stuart Maconie, and food writer and Great British Menu judge Matthew Fort. Next year’s host will be announced in the January issue.

2015 Entry Closed4